Today's Paper Archive Classifieds Subscriptions RSS Feeds Site Map ePaper Mobile Apps Social

Nataraja Samman recipients to dance at ceremony

Staff Reporter
Share  ·   print   ·  
Birju Maharaj
Birju Maharaj

Five renowned classical dance exponents have been selected for the first Nataraja Samman instituted by Sadguru Sri Thyagabrahma Aradhana Kainkarya Trust. The awards will be given to Vyjayantimala Bali (Bharatanatyam); Birju Maharaj (Kathak); Yamini Krishnamurti (Kuchipudi); Sonal Mansingh (Odissi) and Bharati Shivaji (Mohiniattam) for their contributions to classical dance. Each award recipient will present a 15-minute dance programme after the award ceremony on January 19.

Arts consultant Usha R.K. told presspersons here earlier in the week that the ceremony would be followed by Smarana, a charity dinner organised in memory of Namrata Venkataram Reddy, who died of cancer in 2009. The proceeds of it will be given to Kidwai Memorial Hospital. The programme will commence with dance tributes to the award winners by Sathyanarayana Raju, Poornima Ashok, Soundarya Srivatsa and Subhashini Vasanth at 6.30 p.m. The award carrying a purse of Rs.1 lakh will be given to them at a function organised on January 19 at the Tamarind Tree Resort, Konankunte, at 6.30 p.m. For donor cards, call 9845082329 or 26532314.




Recent Article in KARNATAKA

‘India has no sound archive’

Vikram Sampath, executive director, Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts, southern region, gave a talk organised by the Bangalore c... »