National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development (NABARD) on Thursday presented 2009-10 performance awards to 24 farmers' clubs, commercial banks, regional banks, cooperative banks and non-governmental organisations (NGOs). The awards are being given for contribution to the process of inclusive growth and for facilitating delivery of technology and credit services to farmers.

Addressing the gathering at the award function here, Venkatesh Tagat, chief general manager, NABARD, said the self-help group-bank linkage programme was one of the significant contributors towards financial inclusion by covering around 80.84 lakh poor households in the State.

As on March 31, 2010, there were 5.94 lakh SHGs in the State of which more than 5.3 lakh have been credit linked with bank loans totalling Rs. 5,257.51 crore.

Initiatives for Development Foundation, Bangalore, bagged the first prize in the NGO category, while Sri Sharana Muddanna Raitha Koota, Davangere, secured the first prize in the farmers' club group. State Bank of Mysore and Visvesvaraya Grameena Bank secured the first prize in the overall performance in the commercial bank and regional rural banks category, respectively. South Canara District Credit Cooperative Bank Ltd. and the Chikmagalur District Credit Cooperative Bank Ltd. bagged the first prizes in the cooperative bank category.

A booklet on the “Status on SHG Bank Linkage in Karnataka 2009-10” was released by Aloysius Fernandez of MYRADA.

P. Ravi Kumar, principal secretary, Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Department; Narendra Singh, executive director, Corporation Bank; Soundara Kumar, Chief General Manager, State Bank of India; and R.M. Manjunatha Gowda, president, Karnataka State Cooperative Apex Bank Ltd., spoke.

24 farmers' clubs, commercial, regional and cooperative banks, NGOs feted