Staff Correspondent

Protest against disqualification of TP presidents and floor leaders

Belgaum: The Maharashtra Ekikaran Samithi (MES) on Monday staged a dharna in front of the office of the Deputy Commissioner here in protest against the Government Order on disqualification of presidents and floor leaders of Belgaum and Khanapur taluk panchayats in the district.

The Department of Rural Development and Panchayati Raj has issued the order disqualifying Belgaum Taluk Panchayat President Maruti Parshuram Kugaji and floor leader of ruling MES Yellappa Basavanni Tasildar. President of Khanapur Taluk Panchayat Jayashree Jayvant Khanapurkar and floor leader of ruling MES Narayan Yeshwant Kapolkar have also been disqualified.

The order was communicated to the authorities concerned here on August 3 this year.

The disqualification follows coercive moves to pass resolutions pertaining to the boundary dispute, which is beyond the purview of the functioning of the taluk panchayats.


The MES leaders, who participated in the dharna, including Manohar Kinekar, MLA, MES city working president Deepak Dalvi, former Mayor Vijay Pandurang More, criticised the Government for what they alleged as an attack on "freedom of expression".

In Khanapur, MES members, led by Digamber Patil, MLA, staged a protest in the town and condemned the disqualification of the taluk panchayat president and floor leader of the ruling MES.