The Bharatiya Janata Party faces a problem of plenty in the Gulbarga Zilla Panchayat with several members vying for the posts of president and vice-president, even as a similar problem has arisen for the Congress in the Yadgir Zilla Panchayat.

The selection of the right candidates in the Gulbarga Zilla Panchayat has become a difficult proposition since two relatives of party leaders are vying for the president's post.

Shivaprabhu Patil from Mahagaon constituency is a close relative of Amarnath Patil, who is a general secretary of the party and chairman of the Hyderabad Karnataka Development Board. Sharanappagowda Patil Telkur, who got elected from Malkhed in Sedam taluk and is the elder brother of the Gulbarga district president of the BJP, Rajkumar Telkur, is also trying for the post. Jagjivan Reddy Patil, who was elected from Konchavaram in Chincholi taluk, and Annapurna Arunkumar Patil from Gobbur in Afzalpur taluk are also in the race. There is stiff competition for the post of vice-president as well. Prominent among the aspirants are Harshanand Guttedar, who recently joined the BJP from the Janata Dal (S), Srinath Pilli from Kolkunda in Sedam taluk, and Prakash Jamadhar from Mashal in Afzalpur taluk.

In the 22-member Yadgir House, the Congress has 15 seats and the BJP seven. The president's post is being sought by Basavajreswari Patil from Gogi, Sharanamma Anand Sowcar from Devatkal, Anusya Borbanda from Konkal and Chennabasamma Somannavar from Hattikuni. The vice-president's post is being sought by Siddanagowda Police Patil from Kembhavi, Sharana Kumar Dhoka (Saidapur) and Naganagowda Subedar (Sagar.