‘A delegation will visit Bangalore in two days to meet the Chief Minister'

The Madikeri Dasara Committee, at a meeting held at the Cauvery Kalakshetra in Madikeri on Tuesday, decided to seek Rs. 80 lakh from the State Government for this year's Dasara celebrations. The Government had granted Rs. 40 lakh for last year's Dasara.

The meeting was presided over by the Madikeri City Municipal Council (CMC) president and Chairman of the Madikeri Dasara Committee, H.M. Nanda Kumar. The meeting started after offering a traditional puja at the Pete Sri Rama Mandira in the morning, according to information received here. Mr. Kumar announced that a delegation would visit Bangalore in two days to meet the Chief Minister to seek funds.


The meeting witnessed chaotic scenes when the treasurer of the previous Dasara Committee, A.C. Devaiah, presented the audit report of last year's Dasara.

Councillors T.M. Aiyappa and Abdul Razak objected to it stating it was not being presented properly. Over 20 minutes were lost in the din and things settled down when Mr. Kumar said the audit report would be presented as per the procedure.

The members sparred again over the appointment of the president to the health committee disrupting the meeting for over 15 minutes.

G. Chidvilas, one of the newly selected honorary presidents of the committee, suggested to Mr. Kumar that audit report should be presented within two months of the conclusion of Dasara festivities.

S.I. Muneer Ahmad, independent councillor said all community members should be taken into confidence during the celebrations to make the festival more meaningful.

Councilor Pradeep was elected the new working president of the committee. New honorary presidents are M.B. Devaiah, G. Chidvilas, G.M. Satish Pai, P.D. Ponnappa, S.C. Subramani, and Mohan. Shiva Kumari, Madhurayya, and Nagesh were picked as the vice-presidents and G.V. Ravi Kumar as the new president of the Dasha Mantap Committee. Ballachanda Pradeep was selected general secretary, CMC Commissioner Shashi Kumar as honorary secretary, Manu Manjunath as secretary, Mahesh Jaini, and D.M. Harish as joint sectaries and B.K. Arun Kumar as the treasurer.

Cultural committee would be headed by H.T. Anil, poets' meet committee by Sridhar Hoovalli, sports committee by A.C. Devaiah, health committee by Pratibha Shetty, reception committee by Sundar and Vijay will be the convenor.

  • ‘Present audit report within two months of conclusion of Dasara festivities'
  • Last year, Government gave Rs. 40 lakh for Dasara celebrations