Fast Track Court judge Phalakshappa, here on Saturday, announced the quantum of punishment to nine accused in the Gyaralli Thammaiah murder case.

The accused — Prashanth, Suri, ‘Slum' Manja, Divakara, Anil, Mayur, Ananda, Shiva and Naveen were sentenced to life imprisonment and directed to pay a fine of Rs. 2,000 each. Three others — Nandeesh, Satish and Shankar — were acquitted.

Gyaralli Thammaiah was murdered on September 19, 2006.

He was one of the accused in the murder of councillor H.R. Nagaraj in 2004, but was acquitted.

Prashanth, Mayur and Naveen are the sons of Nagaraj.