Special Correspondent

BANGALORE: The Karnataka Cabinet on Thursday decided to constitute a Cabinet sub-committee to decide the fate of 2,215 schools that had violated the language policy by switching over to English-medium though they had been permitted to teach only in Kannada and other languages.

Briefing presspersons here, Primary and Secondary Education Minister Basavaraj Horatti said the committee had been given a deadline of one month to come out with a decision on what should be done with these schoolsfrom the next academic year.

He said these schools had obtained permission only to teach in Kannada, Urdu, Telugu and Malayalam.