The Karnataka High Court on Friday ordered issue of show-cause notices to two former secretaries of the Karnataka Public Service Commission (KPSC) and three other officials asking why contempt of court proceedings should not be initiated against them for allegedly violating court directions related to the fresh moderation of answer scripts in the final exam held for the gazetted probationers posts in 1998.

The officials are IAS officers B.S. Ramaprasad (now Secretary to the Governor) and B.A. Harish Gowda (retired) and Shobha Basavaraj, System Analyst; S. Arunachalam, Section Officer (retired); and I.B. Nirwani, Deputy Secretary II (retired).

They will have to appear before court on April 11.

A Division Bench comprising Chief Justice D.H. Waghela and Justice B.V. Nagarathna passed the order during the hearing of public interest litigation petitions filed by the unsuccessful candidates pertaining to irregularities in the 1998, 1999 and 2004 batches of the recruitment process.

The petitioners alleged that the Criminal Investigation Department (CID) had in its report stated that the KPSC violated the directions of the High Court.Ineligible

Meanwhile, the KPSC submitted the names of three ineligible candidates selected to gazetted probationers’ posts in the 1998 batch.

They are Thejomurthy R., Assistant Treasury Officer, Mayanna Gowda K., Assistant Chief Auditor, and Narasimha Murthy K., Assistant Chief Auditor.

They were among the 94 candidates found ineligible even to attend personality tests following changes in marks after fresh moderation of answer scripts.

When the Bench asked how ineligible persons could continue in public service, Additional Advocate-General said that show-cause notices would be issued to them.

The KPSC also submitted lists of 94 new candidates who would now become eligible for attending the personality test and stated that it would require six weeks for conducting the tests.

The Bench will hear the petition on March 26 to know what action would be initiated by the government against the three ineligible persons in service.

Officials asked why contempt of court action should not be taken against them