The Karnataka Janata Paksha, led by the former Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa, is finding it difficult to lure charismatic leaders in the district, who can make an impact in the upcoming Assembly election.

The district gave nine MLAs to the Bharatiya Janata Party in the last election. The tally went up to 11 when Umesh V. Katti and Balachandra L. Jarkiholi joined the ruling party through ‘Operation Lotus’. When Mr. Yeddyurappa announced his decision to leave the BJP, rumours were rife that Mr. Katti, Laxman Savadi, Jagdish Metgud and Raju Kage would jump on to the KJP bandwagon. However, they have not yet broken their ties with the party, though they have directly and indirectly associated with Mr. Yeddyurappa.

Meanwhile, the KJP has set up its Belgaum city-district unit. According to a press release on Saturday, a 12-member team of office-bearers has been constituted. Gundu Mastmardi has been appointed president of the city unit while B.J. Pujar will head the publicity committee.

However, the party is yet to form district (rural), taluk, and block committees.