: In spite of fielding many seasoned campaigners, the Karnataka Janata Paksha, like the Bharatiya Janata Party, performed poorly in the district.

Among the eight KJP candidates in the district were Minister for Excise M.P. Renukacharya (Honnali) , S.V. Ramachandra (Jagalur), B.P. Harish (Harihar), and Linganna (Mayakonda); however, none of them won the elections.

Mr. Renukacharya, Mr. Ramachandra and Mr. Harish were defeated by huge margins. Karnataka Janata Paksha president B.S.Yedduyrappa was hopeful of winning at least three seats in Davangere and toured the district five times in the last month to mobilise support for his candidates.

The JD(S), which also fielded candidates in all eight Assembly segments in the district, secured only one seat: Harihar, where H.S. Shivashankar defeated Congress candidate S. Ramappa.

The JD(S) candidate from Davangere South, Syed Saifullah, lost to Shamanur Shivashankarappa by a considerable margin.