Staff Reporter

BANGALORE: The Janata Dal (Secular) on Thursday released its first list of candidates comprising 110 names for the polls to Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) Council. The balance of 88 names would be released on Friday, the former Chief Minister and party leader H.D. Kumaraswamy, who released the list, said.

“The candidates for wards that have more aspirants would be announced on Friday, as in many cases there are eight or nine aspirants,” he said. “The names would be announced after taking everyone into confidence,” he added.

The party, he said, would release the poll manifesto in the next two or three days. The manifesto being drafted by the committee headed by the party's city unit president, M.S. Narayan Rao, would address all sections of society — college students, working and middle class, and industrialists, especially the information technology and bio-technology sector, he added.

Stating that the opponents were misguiding voters that the Janata Dal(S) was “anti-urbanites”, Mr. Kumaraswamy listed that the earlier Janata Dal(S) regimes headed by him and his father, the former Prime Minister, H.D. Deve Gowda, had contributed much for the improvement of the city's infrastructure.