Special Correspondent

In all, 88 people have filed papers by the end of Tuesday

There are three-cornered contests in a few places

Rebels from Congress, BJP figure as independents in some places

MANGALORE: The Congress has finally decided to give its ticket Bondala Jagannath Shetty, president of the district youth wing, for Puttur constituency. The party’s spokesperson M.G. Hegde confirmed this to The Hindu. After initially clearing Mr. Shetty’s name for Puttur, the party had suddenly changed its stand and was contemplating on fielding Nalini Lakkappa Gowda there.

This had caused a furore among the youth Congress workers who staged a protest in front of the Congress office here on Monday.

They blamed Administrative Reforms Commission chairman and former Chief Minister M. Veerappa Moily for the development.

On Tuesday morning, however, the party decided to field Mr. Shetty from Puttur. Both Ms Lakappa Gowda and Mr. Shetty filed their nomination papers from the constituency on Tuesday. Ms. Lokappa Gowda, who filed two sets of papers as Congress candidate, also filed one set as an independent, thereby keeping the option of staying in the fray open.

In all, 88 people have filed papers in the district as at the end of Tuesday. . Mr. Rai is among the eight people who have filed their nominations from Bantwal.

The others are: M. Thungappa Bangera (BJP), K.M. Ibrahim, G. Mohammed and Norbert Blacy Rodrigues (all JD-S), Amina B. Sheikh, Dolphy Prashanth D’Souza and Ramanath Pai (independents). Seven candidates filed their nomination papers from Mangalore Constituency, erstwhile Ullal, including: Harish Alva (JD-U), Santhoshkumar Rai (BJP), Hameed (BSP), and Abdul Khader, Victor D’Souza, Usman and J. Mohammed (independents).

Besides Mr. Bondala Jagannath Shetty, M.K. Prasad (BJP), H.M. Prasad (BSP), A. Jeevan Bhandari , Nalini Lakappa Gowda , Jagadish Shetty Nillikatte, K.H. Ashraf Kallega, Abdul Azeez and Abdul Rahiman (independents) filed papers.

From Sullia, the Congress nominee B. Raghu Sharathchandra (JD-S), M. Ramesh (BSP) and Gokuldas (Congress) have filed papers. The BJP and Congress nominees, K. Krishna Palemar and Mohiuddin Bava, are among the nine who filed nomination papers.

The others are: Supreet Kumar (JD-U), S.V. Amin (JD-S), M. Shashikala (BSP), Mumtaz Ali (Congress) M.K. Haneef, Anand Katti and Mohammed Rafi (independents).

The BJP and JD(S) nominees K.P. Jagadish M. Adhikari and K. Amaranath Shetty, and independent Steven Vincent D’Souza filed their nomination papers from Moodbidri constituency.

The Congress nominee K. Vasanth Bangera filed his papers from Belthangady. Others are: Raghudharma Sen (BSP), K. Gangadhara Gowda (JD-S) and Thimmarodi Mahesh Shetty (independent).

25 candidates file papers in Udupi district

Udupi Staff Correspondent reports:

As many as 25 candidates filed their nominations in Udupi district on Tuesday.

According to a press release issued by the District Election Officer here, those whole filed their nomination papers For Karkala Assembly constituency included Chandrahasa Suvarna (Janata Dal – Secular), K. Ganesh and U.K. Saiyyad (Bahujan Samaj Party – BSP) have filed papers.

For Udupi constituency, Pramod Madhwaraj (Congress), Zakir Hussain (BSP), Raghupati Bhat and T.M. Zafarulla (independents) filed their papers.

For Kaup: Leeladhar Shetty (JD-S), Steven John Menezes (BSP), Gururaj Bhat, Nagesh Rao, Dinesh Suvarna, and Amir Hamza (independents). For Byndoor: Uday (BSP), Shiriyar Muddanna Shetty (JD-S), Abdul Azeez, H. Suresh Poojary, Kamalaksha, and Abdul Aiyad (independents).

Halady Srinivas Shetty and Mani Gopal (BJP), B.T. Manjunath (JD-S), Oswald Fernandes (BSP), Chandrakant Kharvi and Mohammad Hussain (independents) filed papers for Kundapur constituency.