It is curtains for the subsidy controversy, which has been dogging the government. The government has cleared the list of films selected for subsidy for 2009-10.

According to Secretary, Department of Information, Kannada and Culture, Basavaraju, Chief Minister D.V. Sadananda Gowda has approved the list of films selected for subsidy by a committee headed by veteran actor Shivaram.

The selection of films for subsidy embarrassed the government, when the list leaked even before submission. The allegation against members of the committee demanding money from producers for selection of films triggered a controversy.

Following a demand from a section of producers, the Department of Information sought a report on the issue from the Director of the Department of Information Bevinmarad. “Based on the report, the Chief Minister cleared the list of films qualified for subsidy,” Mr. Bevinmarad told The Hindu .

The State government is providing subsidy to “qualitative” Kannada films for the past several. The subsidy amount which was meagre Rs. 50,000 initially has been increased to Rs.10 lakh a film now. A committee formed by the government will choose films for subsidy every year. Of the 108 films sent, the committee selected 50 films.

Sources in the Department of Information said that the government had cleared the list of winners for the State film awards for 2010-11.

Questions are being raised on selection and producer-actor Priya Hasan even approached court seeking a stay the list of winners for the award. She questioned presence of those connected with the films sent for awards in the selection panel against the norm.

Sources in the Department admitted that rules were strictly against having persons connected with the films sent for award. Chairperson of the committee had the power to co-opt another person in such instances.

But the person in question, Ashok Kashyap, the cinematographer of Super which got the award was kept out, while choosing the film for award. Similarly actor Hema Choudhary was kept out while deciding award for Sogasugara, sources added.

Mr. Bevinmarad said that the file containing the recommendations of Bharathi Vishnuvardhan's committee was with the Chief Minister. “I haven't received any communication in this regard so far.”

  • List of films selected for subsidy for

    2009-10 approved

  • Government clears list of winners for State

    film awards for 2010-11