Congress wins two seats, KJP, BJP, JD(S) and Karnataka Makkala Paksha bag one each

: Voters in Bidar seem to have bucked the trend of pushing the Congress to form a government.

Of the six Assembly constituencies, two went to Congress, and one each to Bharatiya Janata Party, Janata Dal (Secular), Karnataka Janata Paksha and Karnataka Makkala Paksha.

Prabhu Chauhan will be the lone BJP MLA from the district now. Mr. Chauhan, who got 61682 votes, defeated Dhanaji Jadhav of the KJP by a margin of 23,129 votes.

In Humnabad, Rajshekar Patil of the Congress polled 64,694 votes and won by over 24,500 votes against Naseemoddin Patel of the JD (S).

However, two-time MLA and Congressman Ishwar Khandre had to sweat it out against D.K. Sidram of the KJP before scoring a 9,669-vote victory. Infrastructure entrepreneur Ashok Kheny defeated former Minister and JD (S) nominee Bandeppa Kashempur by a margin of 15,788 votes. Mr. Kheny secured 47,763 votes.

The former Minister Gurupadappa Nagamarapalli’s contest against the Congress' Rahim Khan a close one, with Mr. Nagamarapalli winning in the 13th round of counting by 2,571 votes.

Voters surprised Congress leaders by electing Mallikarjun Khuba of the JD(S) in Basavakalyan. He defeated Congress nominee B. Narayan Rao, a backward classes leaderby a margin of 15,893.