Congress wins four of the nine seats, BSR Congress two

It has been a mixed bag in Bellary: of the nine Assembly seats in the district, the Congress bagged four, the BSR Congress two, and the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Janata Dal (Secular) one each, while the other went to an Independent.

Considering the Congress’ performance in the urban local body polls (it won a majority of seats in all 10 ULBs in the district), the party must have found this outcome contrary to their expectations. However, its tally has gone up by three as compared to the lone seat it won in the 2008 elections.

In Hadagali, Congress candidate P.T. Parmeshwar Nayak defeated Chandra Nayak of the BJP by a margin of 40,810 votes. In Siruguppa, B.M. Nagaraj of the Congress secured 65,490 votes, while his closest rival was M.S. Somalingappa of the BJP, who got polled 43,676 votes.

Congress candidate from Bellary City Anil Lad defeated S. Murali Krishna of the BSR Congress by a margin of 18,200 votes. Mr. Lad secured 52,098 votes, while Mr. Krishna got 33,898 votes.

E. Tukaram of the Congress won from Sandur by a margin of 34,631 votes. He secured 62,246 votes, while his closest rival R. Dhananjay of the JD(S) garnered 27,615 votes.

The BJP, whose base in the district eroded following the departure of the Reddy brothers, has put up a very bad show. In the 2008 elections, the party won eight seats. Of the BJP candidates fielded in the district, only B.S. Anand Singh won, securing 69,995 votes. He defeated Congress candidate Abdul Wahab (39,358 votes).

The BSR Congress, floated by B. Sriramulu, managed to win two seats — Bellary Rural, represented by Mr. Sriramulu, and Kampli, represented by T.H. Suresh Babu, who is Mr. Sriramulu’s nephew. Both leaders won by considerable margins.

JD(S) managed to win the Hagari Bommanahalli seat. Party candidate Bheema Nayak (51,972 votes) defeated Nemiraj Nayak, BJP MLA (51,847 votes) by a thin margin of 125 votes.

B. Nagendra, Kudligi MLA, retained his seat. He contested as an Independent after resigning from the BJP, and defeated S. Venkatesh of the Congress by 34,631 votes.

  • BJP’s base in Bellary eroded following the departure of the Reddy brothers

  • Independent B. Nagendra defeats Congress candidate in Kudligi