Staff Correspondent

`District-level committees under the control of officials'

Belgaum: MLA Prakash B. Hukkeri has regretted that the Government is not involving elected representatives in the implementation of relief works in the flood-affected areas in different districts, particularly in north Karnataka.

According to Mr. Hukkeri here on Monday, the Government created district-level implementation committees for flood-affected areas in Belgaum, Bagalkot, Bijapur, Raichur, Gulbarga and Udupi districts by an order on August 8, 2005.

The committees were created with an objective of assessing of crop loss, loss to private and public infrastructure, electric installations, roads, and propose measures to take up relief works, including rehabilitation and resettlement works, in these districts, he said.

These committees were formed with district in-charge secretary as chairperson, deputy commissioner as vice-chairperson and nine district-level officials as members and the headquarters assistant to deputy commissioner as member secretary, he said.

However, elected members had not been given a place in such an important committee. Neither the district in-charge Minister nor Ministers, members of Parliament and the legislature from the district had been included, he said.

The committees were under the control of the officials, he added.

The Government should make elected representatives "special invitees" so that they could help the local administration in effectively implementing relief works in the flood-affected areas, he said.