Staff Correspondent

BELLARY: As many as 13.82 lakh voters — 6.96 lakh men and 6.85 lakh women — will exercise their franchise in the elections to the Lok Sabha from Bellary constituency on April 23.

After delimitation of constituencies, Harpanahalli, which forms a part of Davangere district, has been removed from Bellary constituency, while Hospet, once a part of the Koppal parliamentary constituency, has been included in Bellary. Siruguppa, which was earlier part of Bellary constituency, has now been incorporated into Koppal.

Following are the details of voters according to Assembly segment data (in lakh): Hadagali (1.41); Hagari Bommanahalli (1.68); Kampli (1.75); Vijayanagar (1.63); Bellary (1.91); Bellary city (2.32); Sandur (1.48) and Kudligi (1.61).

Election schedule

B. Shivappa, Deputy Commissioner, told presspersons here on Tuesday that the election schedule would be published on March 23 and that April 4 was the last date for filing nominations.

As many as 1,589 polling booths had been set up in the district and the process of deputing personnel for election duty was on, he said.

To monitor the implementation of the model code of conduct, Mr. Shivappa said teams at the district and taluk levels had been formed.

Micro-observers would also be appointed at hypersensitive booths, he added.