Gulbarga University has suggested 10 names to Governor H.R. Bhardwaj, who is Chancellor of the university, for conferring honorary doctorate during the 30th annual convocation of the varsity scheduled for February 27.

Although the full list of the names was not available, university sources told The Hindu that they included Director-General and Inspector-General of Police Shankar Bidari, Social Welfare Minister A. Narayanaswamy, the former president of the Akhila Bharata Veerashaiva Mahasabha Bheemanna Khandre, Dalit leader Vittal Doddamani, Urdu scholar Abdul Wahab Andalib, Gangadhara Shivacharya of the Vishwaradhya Samasthana Math at Abbe Tumkur in Yadgir district and Murugarajendra Mahaswami of the Jidga Math in Aland taluk.

The names of a Sanskrit scholar and a Hyderabad-based scientist have also been suggested, the sources said.

The university Syndicate, at a recent meeting, cleared the names after lengthy discussion. The response from the Governor's office is awaited. Sources said the former Assistant Director-General of the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organisation Prem Nath would deliver the convocation address. The function would be at Mahadevappa Rampure open air theatre on the main campus on February 27 at 10.30 a.m.

  • Shankar Bidari, Minister Narayanaswamy, Bheemanna Khandre in line for the honour

  • 30th annual convocation to be held on

    February 27