Staff Correspondent

MADIKERI: The president of the Gonicoppa Agriculture Produce Marketing Committee (APMC), Bose Devaiah, was ousted in a no-trust motion on Wednesday, according to sources.

Konicoppa APMC, covering Virajpet taluk of Kodagu, had 18 members, including one departmental representative, who was not eligible to vote. That left 17 members, including 12 elected members, in the fray.

Five members were nominated three from the government and two from the Agriculture Produce Cooperatives Marketing Societies [APCMS]. Of the three government nominated members, membership of two were cancelled by the Government recently.

They were replaced by two new members, but the anti-Bose Devaiah camp got a stay from the court stating that newly-appointed members Raghu Nanaiah and Kauvery Mandanna did not have the right to vote. This helped the anti-Bose Devaiah camp emerge victorious.