Staff Correspondent

Belgaum: The State Bharatiya Janata Party has decided to field its youth leader and former Minister Shashikant A. Naik in the byelection to the Local Authorities Constituency consisting of all panchayat bodies, town panchayats, city municipalities, Belgaum City Corporation and Cantonment Board in Belgaum district. Accordingly, Mr. Naik submitted his nomination papers with ‘B’ form to the District Election Officer and Deputy Commissioner J. Ravishankar on Tuesday.


All the three Ministers from the district — Umesh V. Katti, Balachandra L. Jarkiholi and Laxman Savadi — besides BJP’s Rajya Sabha member Prabhakar B. Kore and BJP district President Jagdish Metgud, were present to lend moral support to Mr. Naik at the time of filing his nomination papers. Suresh C. Angadi, MP, was conspicuous by his absence.

On the other hand, senior Congress leader and former MLA S.C. Malagi submitted his nomination papers in the presence of former Ministers A.B. Patil and Prakash B. Hukkeri and former MP Amarsinh Patil.

Uttam Pandit Patil of the Janata Dal (Secular) filed his nomination papers, even as the party’s district president Ashok Pujari filed his nomination [believed to be a dummy candidate].

In all, four members filed their nomination papers for the byelection to the Council seat which fell vacant after former Minister Satish L. Jarkiholi resigned to contest for the State Assembly from Yamkanmardi in May this year. The scrutiny of nomination papers will be done tomorrow while the last date for withdrawal of nomination is October 17.

Polling date

Polling will be held on October 31 from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., and counting of votes will be taken up on November 3 from 8 a.m. onwards.