Three of them are pitted against one another in Chamaraja Assembly segment

Four former Mayors of Mysore will be in the poll fray this time.

In Chamaraja Assembly constituency, three former first citizens are pitted against one another. They are: Vasu, the Congress candidate; H.S. Shankaralinge Gowda, the Janata Dal (Secular) candidate, and M. Bharati, the BSR Congress candidate.

First time

Contesting the Assembly elections is not something new for either Mr. Gowda or Mr. Vasu, but for Ms. Bharati, who quit the Congress and joined the BSR Congress, it is her first Assembly elections.

Mr. Gowda, a four-time MLA, climbed up the political ladder after serving as Mayor several years ago.

He won the elections from Chamaraja constituency on a BJP ticket, four times in a row from 1996. This time, he will fight the elections on the JD(S) ticket.

Mr. Vasu, who runs a chain of institutions including an engineering college here, was the first citizen of Mysore in 1989. This is the third time Mr. Vasu will contest the elections. He lost the previous two elections to Mr. Gowda.

Ms. Bharathi became the 20th Mayor of the city in 2005. She won from Ward 31 in Chamaraja Assembly constituency on a Congress ticket. She was the first Scheduled Tribe candidate to occupy the top post.

After keeping a low profile for many years, she has now come out to revive her political career.

L. Nagendra, three-time councillor, is the BJP candidate in Chamaraja constituency.

In Narasimharaja

Sandesh Swamy, a former Mayor, will be up against the former Minister and three-time MLA Tanveer Sait, who is contesting on the Congress ticket from Narasimharaja constituency. Mr. Sait has served as a councillor in the Mysore City Corporation.

Mr. Swamy of the JD(S), a three-time councillor, was elected to the top post in April 2010, following an understanding between the JD(S) and the Congress. Mr. Swamy won by a margin of seven votes, defeating Mr. Nagendra of the BJP.

Mr. Swamy represents ward no. 62 (Gayathripuram), which comes under Narasimharaja constituency.

Mr. Swamy’s brother, Sandesh Nagaraj, who is a JD(S) MLC, hotelier, and film producer, was defeated in the 2008 elections by Mr. Sait in Narasimharaja.

  • Shankaralinge Gowda, Vasu, M. Bharati are contesting from Chamaraja segment

  • Sandesh Swamy will be up against Congress candidate Tanveer Sait in Narasimharaja