The Cabinet has decided to give kumki lands belonging to the Revenue Department to farmers in Dakshina Kannada and Udupi districts. These lands were being cultivated by farmers over the years in both districts.

Informing presspersons on the Cabinet meeting decisions held here on Saturday, Law and Parliamentary Affairs Minister S. Suresh Kumar said about four lakh farmers would get ownership of kumki lands in two districts of the State.

Generally, kumki lands are set aside for cattle grazing and to raise fodder. State Advocate-General S. Vijayashankar opined that these lands belong to the Revenue Department and not to the Forest Department and hence the Central government’s permission is not needed to give the lands to farmers. The government will bring an amendment to the rules to give such land to farmers in two districts of the State, Mr. Kumar said.

The Cabinet has decided to set up seven Kittur Rani Chennamma and three Morarji Desai residential schools in different districts.

Mr. Suresh Kumar said Kittur Rani Chennamma schools would be established in Aimangala in Hiriyur of Chitradurga, Turuvakere, Gundlupet, Ramadurga, Hukkeri, Surapur in Yadgir and Bellary.

The Morarji Desai Residential schools would come up in Kanakanagiri in Gangavathi, Ramanagaram and Kodekal in Surpur of Yadgir district. While Kittur Rani Chennamma schools would be reserved for Scheduled Tribe students, the Morarji Desai schools will be reserved for Scheduled Caste students, he said.

Two government pre-university colleges have been sanctioned to Devadurga in Raichur and Chegur in Chikmagalur district, the Minister said.

The Cabinet has given full powers to Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar to fine-tune the State Youth Policy 2012.

The Cabinet has empowered the Chief Minister to take a decision on providing additional support price for high quality and ordinary varieties of paddy of the State farmers.

  • Four lakh farmers to benefit

  • Seven Kittur Rani Chennamma, three Morarji Desai residential schools in various districts