Special Correspondent

The front decides to field candidates for 13 seats

The front is in talks with the JD(S), Congress

GULBARGA: The Karnataka Rajya Raitha Sangha (KRRS) and Sarvodaya Karnataka along with various Dalit organisations have decided to form a common front and field its candidates in the ensuing Lok Sabha elections from 13 constituencies in the State.

Sangha’s Gulbarga divisional convener Basavaraddy Karaddy and State General Secretary of the Sarvodaya Karnataka Basavaraj Rachareddy told presspersons that all the candidates would be fielded under the banner of the Sarvodaya Karnataka.

The front was in touch with the Congress and Janata Dal (S) for alliance or seat sharing arrangements, he said. Mr Karaddy said that while sangha president K.S. Puttanaiah would be contesting from Mandya, another senior leader Kodihalli Chandrasekhar would contest from Hassan and Ramesh Gadadannavar would be fielded from Bagalkot.

Final list soon

The candidates for the other 10 constituencies would be finalised shortly.

Referring to the talks with the Congress and Janata Dal (Secular), Mr. Karaddy and Mr. Rachareddy said that the Congress had offered to field the candidate sponsored by the front in Mandya on the condition that he should fight on the Congress symbol.

“We rejected this proposal for the reason that the front would lose its prominence if a candidate contested on the Congress symbol,” he said.

Mr. Karaddy said the front would field its candidates in all the four seats in Hyderabad Karnataka region.

The sangha decided to field its candidate in the Lok Sabha elections to provide a voice of the farmer in the Parliament and failures of the political parties which had come to power in the name of farmer and later forgetting them.

Dalit groups join hands

Mr. Karaddy said that several Dalit organisations, including Dalit Sangharsha Samiti groups, were part of the front. Mr. Karaddy reiterated the popular slogan of the KRRS asking the farmer “one vote one note”.