Vidyadhar Kinnal, professor and Head of the Department of General Surgery, Vijayanagar Institute of Medical Science (VIMS), was on Sunday elected president of the Indian Medical Association (IMA) Bellary Chapter for 2012.

He will be taking charge from Chandrashekar.

Ajit Kulkarni, physician, has been elected as vice-president.

H. Nizamuddin, district tuberculosis officer,

and Mariraj, professor

in the Department

of Microbiology of

VIMS, have been appointed as general secretary and joint secretary, respectively.

Physician B.K. Srinivas Murthy and S.J.V. Mahipal, Harsoor and others were present. — Staff Correspondent