Staff Reporter

Anand Dharwad to get the award in individual category

Awards to be presented at a function today

BANGALORE: The Desi National Award, which recognises outstanding contribution in the field of handlooms, has been renamed as Dasimaiah National Award from this year.

Expert in natural dye and natural fibre expert Anand Dharwad will receive the renamed award for 2009-2010 in the individual category while Holenaraseepura Khadi Gramodyaga Sahakara Sangha in Hassan and Sri Adishakti Kaimagga Nekarara Swasahaya Sangha of Gajendragad in Gadag district will get the award in the institutional category, a release said.

Mr. Dharwad is a textile engineer, who has made his name in the field of natural dye and fibre through Gram Nirman, an organisation based in Sathanur, Kanakapura.

The products produced from banana fibres are in high demand abroad.

One of the oldest Khadi sanghas in Karnataka, Holenarseepura Gramodyoga Sahakara Sangha was started in 1938 by a group of freedom fighters, and has been involved in popularising khadi products.

In 1986, it took over Badanwalu Khadi Sangha in Chamarajanagar district where Mahatma Gandhi stayed for three days.

Sri Adishakti Kaimagga Nekarara Swasahaya Sangha was started in 2007, and has helped in reviving the handloom sector in Gajendragad. Once a thriving handloom village, migration dogged the sector and the number of looms had fallen from 250 to 60-70 looms.

Heggodu-based Charaka Trust is assisting the sangha by supplying the natural dyed fibre and purchasing the cloth.

The award

The Desi Award, instituted by Desi Trust, has been renamed after Devara Dasimaiah, a weaver, who was a great saint-poet of medieval times.

The award carries a cash prize of Rs. 40,000, an equal amount of market support, a bronze plaque of Mahatma Gandhi and a citation.

The awards would be given away by the Vice-Chairperson of the National Handloom Development Corporation Uzramma at Karnataka Chitrakala Parishath on Saturday.

Filmmaker M.S. Sathyu will inaugurate the handloom exhibition while Director-General and Inspector-General of Police Ajai Kumar Singh will preside over the function.