The authorities concerned have made necessary arrangements for the counting of votes in Bangarpet Assembly (Reserved) Constituency in the district. The byelection was held for the seat on April 9. However, due to general elections for the Assemblies in Tamil Nadu, Kerala and West Bengal, the process of counting is being taken up now.

The announcement of the results will end a prolonged model code of conduct in force which had come in the way of many activities in the district.

In view of counting of votes, Deputy Commissioner Manoj Kumar Meena has banned sale and supply of liquor in Bangarpet taluk limits. The ban will be in force from midnight of May 12 to midnight of May 13.

The resignation of MLA M. Narayanaswamy to join the Bharatiya Janata Party, after quitting the Congress, had resulted in bypoll for this Assembly segment. The outcome will decide the political fate of contenders of three political parties: BJP nominee M. Narayanaswamy, Congress candidate K.M. Narayanaswamy and JD(S) candidate C. Venkateshappa.