Kala Silk Cotton Expo 2013 is being held at Woodlands Hotel, Mangalore, between 10 a.m. to 9 p.m. Textiles and handicrafts from various Indian cities and States including, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir and Gujarat are being displayed. The exhibition will also feature separate counters for fancy footwear and cotton wear for children.

New NMPT Deputy Conservator

Captain Pradeep Mohanty is the new Deputy Conservator at New Mangalore Port Trust. Captain Mohanty, a Master Mariner, joined as the Harbour Master in November 2008.

Mangala Badminton Club office-bearers

Santosh Kumar Shetty has been re-elected as the president of Mangala Badminton Club for the year 2013-14. The new set of office-bearers are A. Sadananda Shetty (Honorary President), A.S. Venkatesh (vice-president) and Deepak Kumar (General Secretary).

23 postal workers felicitated

In observation of World Postal Day, the South Kanara Photographers’ Association (SKPA), Mangalore Zone, on Wednesday felicitated 20 postmen and three women mail carriers of Kodialbail post office.

Regulation of trains at Shoranur Junction

Due to railway line doubling near Shoranur Junction, certain trains will be regulated on October 10. According to a Southern Railway press release, Train No. 16649 Mangalore Central-Nagercoil Junction Parasuram Express and Train No. 16345 Lokmanya Tilak-Thiruvananthapuram Nethravati Express will be regulated for four hours and three hours, respectively, between Kozhikode and Shoranur. Train No. 16650 Nagercoil Junction-Mangalore Central Parasuram Express and Train No 12617 Ernakulam-Nizamuddin Mangala Express will be regulated for 40 minutes and 2 hours, respectively, in the Thiruvananthapuram division.

Dialysis machine at City Hospital

The Central Arecanut and Cocoa Marketing and Processing Co-operative Ltd. (Campco) will be installing a dialysis machine at the City Hospital, Puttur. The machine will exclusively cater to Campco members and employees. The service will start from October 12. It will be operated by the K.S. Hegde Medical college staff.