KOLAR: The Congress has won most of the seats in the Chintamani Taluk Panchayat. It has also bagged many zilla panchayat seats in the taluk.

The counting of votes in Chintamani taluk, which was deferred owing to re-polling on Wednesday, took place on Thursday. While the Congress has won 15 of the 21 seats in the taluk panchayat, the Janata Dal (Secular) bagged three and rebel Congress candidates two.

The Congress has won four zilla panchayat seats, while a rebel Congress candidate bagged the Kaiwara seat.

The Janata Dal (S) has won the Uthanur taluk panchayat seat in Mulabgal taluk where re-polling was held on Wednesday.