Karnataka Janata Paksha wins two and BJP the other

: It was celebration time for Congress as the party swept the polls in Gulbarga and Yadgir, winning 10 of the 13 seats in these districts.

However, the party suffered a shock defeat in Shahpur where Sharanbasappa Darshanapur was humbled by a political greenhorn Guru Patil Shirwal of the Karnataka Janata Paksha by a margin of 5,800 votes.

The BJP was able to win only in Gulbarga South where Dattatreya Patil Revoor defeated Janata Dal (Secular) candidate Shashil G. Namoshi by a margin of nearly 10,000 votes. In 2008, the BJP had won five seats in the districts.

The JD (S) failed to win a seat in the two districts. The former legislator B.R. Patil vanquished JD (S) MLA Subash Guttedar in Aland by a margin of over 17,000 votes.

For the KJP the results came as a dampener. Only Mr. Patil in Aland and Guru Patil Sirwal from Shahpur in Yadgir district emerged victorious.

The elections were also good for Priyank Kharge and Dr. Ajay Singh. Mr. Priyank Kharge, who lost the byelection in Chittapur Assembly constituency to BJP candidate Valmiki Naik in 2009, won the seat this time by a margin of more than 31,000 votes.

Dr. Singh settled scores with BJP candidate Doddappa Gowda Patil Naribol by winning by a margin of more than 24,000 votes.

Animal Husbandry Minister Revu Naik Belamagi, a four-time MLA, lost to the former Minister G. Ramakrishna from Gulbarga Rural Assembly constituency by a margin of over 7,200 votes.

In Chincholi, newcomer Umesh Jadav of the Congress shocked MLA and former Minister Sunil Valyapure by a margin of over 26,000 votes.

The former Minister Qamar-ul Islam retained the Gulbarga North seat by a margin of 20,127 defeating KJP candidate Naseer Hussain Ustad, and Malikayya Guttedar retained the Afzalpur seat defeating M.Y. Patil of the KJP by a margin of more than 5,200 votes.