The District Congress Committee will be felicitating Union Ministers and other veteran leaders of the party for their efforts in getting special status for the Hyderabad Karnataka region through an amendment to Article 371.

The felicitation function will be held on the municipal school ground here on February 9.

Appaji Nadagouda, general secretary of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) in charge of the district, told mediapersons here on Thursday that Union Minister for Labour and Employment Mallikarjun Kharge, Minister for Petroleum and Natural Gas M. Veerappa Moily, Minister of State for Micro, Medium and Small Enterprises K.H. Muniyappa, and Minister for Minority Affairs K. Rahman Khan, Dharam Singh, MP, and the former External Affairs Minister S.M. Krishna, among other veteran leaders of the party, will be felicitated.

President of the KPCC G. Parameshwara, Leader of the Opposition in Legislative Assembly Siddaramaiah and Leader of the Opposition in Legislative Council S.R. Patil will also be felicitated.

Various organisations and associations that were involved in the struggle for getting special status will be requested to participate in the felicitation function.