Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee president G. Parameshwara on Saturday said aspirants wishing to contest in the Legislative Assembly elections have come from all districts. Each application would be scrutinised by a 31-member State Election Committee of the KPCC and one or two names would be sent to the Central Election Committee of the AICC.

Speaking to presspersons after admitting Karnataka Gangamatastha Samaja president B.K. Mohan Kumar and a large number of his followers to the party, he said once the central committee finalises the names, they will be announced. Dr. Parameshwara is also the president of the State Election Committee, which comprises senior leaders and central Ministers.

Dr. Parameshwara, who returned from New Delhi after a meeting with AICC general secretary Madhusudhan Mistry, said State leaders, including Leader of Opposition in the Legislative Assembly Siddaramaiah and Leader of Opposition in the Legislative Council S.R. Patil, were told that the AICC president Sonia Gandhi wanted the State unit to work hard to come to power and make all preparations for elections. The elections would be held under collective leadership, he added.

He announced that MLC Naseer Ahmed has been appointed as chief of the Minority Cell of the KPCC and T. Eshwar of Gadag to the Scheduled Tribe cell. He said that MLAs, including Independents, have expressed their desire to join the Congress, but their names would be announced at the right time. Party workers, who came in ten buses from Haveri, raised slogans supporting the Congress. Asked to comment on the BJP/KJP fight in the State and its impact on the government, he said Governor H.R. Bhardwaj had told the Congress delegation that he would take action only after MLAs send their resignation to the Speaker. Dr. Parameshwara demanded the resignation of Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar as he claimed the latter had lost the majority in the House.

  • Elections to be held under collective leadership

  • Karnataka Gangamatastha Samaja president

    B.K. Mohan Kumar inducted into party