Five out of the seven seats in the district are reserved

The politically volatile Raichur district, dominated by the backward classes and the Scheduled Tribes, is witnessing a close fight in almost all the seven Assembly constituencies, with the Congress having a slight advantage over others.

The district’s politics is dominated by the Valmiki Naiks, included in the Scheduled Tribes list, Kurubas who are sizeable in number, and the powerful Reddy Lingayats. Though small in number, the Reddy Lingayats, dominate politics because of their large landholdings.

Five out of the seven seats in Raichur district belong to the reserved category, and the district also has four seats reserved for Scheduled Tribes.

In the last Assembly elections, the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party won three seats each, and the Janata Dal (Secular) one. While the Congress won Raichur City, Raichur Rural and Manvi, the BJP emerged victorious in Deodurga, Maski and Lingsugur, and the JD (S) in Sindhanur.

However, the situation is different now owing to the exit of the former Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa from the BJP. The Congress seems to have the upper hand with Papareddy and Pratapgowda Patil, former BJP MLAs, joining the party. It has a clear edge over its rivals in majority of the constituencies.

In Raichur Rural Assembly constituency, Congress MLA Rayappa Naik is contesting against his younger brother and the former Minister Amaresh Naik of the JD (S). However, the contest appears to be a toss up between Mr. Rayappa Naik and the BJP candidate Thipparaju, a protégé of Deodurga MLA Shivanagouda Naik.

In Manvi Assembly constituency, Congress MLA Hampayya Naik is facing his son-in-law Gangadhar Naik fighting on the Karnataka Janata Paksha ticket.

In Maski Assembly constituency, Pratapgowda Patil of the Congress is taking on his brother-in-law Mahadevappagowda of the KJP.

  • The district is dominated by the backward classes and the Scheduled Tribes

  • In the last elections, the Congress and the BJP won three seats each, and the JD(S) one

  • Five out of the seven seats here belong to the reserved category