Staff Correspondent

MANGALORE: The Janata Dal (Secular) leadership on Tuesday rolled out red carpet for rebels from the Congress by fielding them as its official candidates in some constituencies of Dakshina Kannada district.

Those who were welcomed into Janata Dal (S) were: Former Minister Gangadhar Gowda in Belthangady, former MLA K.M. Ibrahim in Bantwal and former member of Karnataka State Commission for Backward Classes S.V. Amin in Mangalore City North. Disclosing this to presspersons here on Tuesday, the vice-president of Janata Dal (S) and former Minister Subbaiah Shetty said the party was fielding Nazir Ullal as its candidate for Mangalore, former Minister K. Amarnath Shetty for Moodbidri and Sharashchandra for Sullia. The Janata Dal (S) candidate for Kaup is Leeladhar Shetty, for Kundapur B.T. Manjunath Poojary, and Baindoor, Shiriyar Muddanna Shetty.On the party’s decision not to field candidates in Mangalore City South and Puttur, Mr. Shetty said the leadership had decided to extend external support to Yashwanth Maroli of CPI (M) and Shakuntala Shetty, a former Bharatiya Janata Party MLA and now an independent candidate, contesting in these two constituencies. These candidates had sought the party’s support, he said.