Staff Correspondent

DAVANGERE: The Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee has decided to launch its election campaign for the ensuing Assembly elections from Davangere.

The party will formally launch its campaign here on April 13 and on that day the party has organised a farmers’ rally here.

Prithviraj Chavan, Union Minister and AICC general secretary in-charge of Karnataka, will inaugurate the election campaign as well as the farmers’ convention.

Addressing presspersons here on Friday, D. Basavaraj, general secretary of the Davangere District Congress Committee, said KPCC president M. Mallikarjun Kharge, the former Chief Ministers S.M. Krishna, N. Dharam Singh and M. Veerappa Moily, the former Deputy Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and senior Congress leaders C.K. Jaffer Sheriff, Oscar Fernandes, Margret Alva, B.K. Hariprasad and Shyamanur Shivashankarappa will participate in the conference.

The manifesto of the party is expected to be released on the same day, Mr. Basavaraj said.

Mr. Basavaraj said the mid-term polls in the State would be a pointer to the next Lok Sabha elections.