Special Correspondent

The Congress has won 12 seats in the 31-member house and the Janata Dal (S) five

SHIMOGA: The district units of the Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) have decided to go ahead with their earlier plan to share power in Shimoga Zilla Panchayat, where no party has won a clear majority.

The Congress has won 12 seats in the 31-member zilla panchayat and has emerged the single largest party. The BJP and Samajawadi Party have won the seven seats each and Janata Dal (Secular) five.

The decision to share power was taken at a meeting of district leaders of the Congress and the Janata Dal (Secular) here on Friday. The former Minister Kagodu Thimmappa, President of the District Congress Committee (DCC) and MLC Mir Azeez Ahmed, the former Shimoga MP Ayanur Manjunath, Kimmane Rathnakar and the General Secretary of the DCC N. Ramesh led the Congress.

The former MLA from Bhadravati M.J. Appaji, the former President of the district unit of the Janata Dal (Secular) V. Raju and former member of the Zilla Panchayat S. Kumar represented the Janata Dal (Secular).

According to the agreement reached upon at the meeting for 20 months, the Congress candidate will be president of the Zilla Panchayat for the first ten months; the post of the vice-president will go to Janata Dal (Secular).

Janata Dal(S) candidate will be president for the next ten months and Congress candidate vice-president. The President's post for the first 20 months of the five-year term is reserved for the `general' (woman) and that of vice-president for Backward Classes and Minorities-A category.

Bharati Manjunathaiah of the Congress, who has won from Kuppali constituency in Tirthahalli taluk, and K.M. Krishnamurthy of Janata Dal (Secular), who has won from Hosnagar constituency, have been nominated candidates for the posts of the president and vice-president of the respective parties. The election, scheduled to be held on Saturday, will now be a formality.