It has won 10 times in the 13 elections held so far

Hiriyur Assembly constituency in Chitradurga district was a Congress stronghold for nearly five decades with leaders like the late K.H. Ranganath who was a Minister in governments headed by the late D. Devaraj Urs, the late S. Bangarappa and S.M. Krishna. He was the MP for Chitradurga during 1984-89.

In the last 13 Assembly elections, the Congress won 10 times in this constituency, while the Janata Dal (Secular) won twice and the BJP once.

In the 1952 elections, V. Masiyappa of the Congress won, winning 44,941 of the 1,34,257 votes polled.

In 1957, K. Kenchappa of the Congress won, and Mr. Masiyappa was re-elected in 1962. In 1967, D. Manjunath of the Congress won, and Mr. Ranganath represented the constituency in 1972, 1978, 1983 and 1985. In 1989, R. Ramaiah of the Congress won from the constituency.

D. Manjunath of the Janata Dal (Secular) was elected in 1994, and Mr. Ranganath was re-elected in 1999.

In 2004, Mr. Manjunath of the JD(S) was re-elected. D. Sudhakar, an Independent candidate, won in 2008. He supported the BJP and was made a Minister. However, Mr. Sudhakar has now joined the Congress and is contesting as its candidate from Hiriyur constituency this time.

Although the Hiriyur segment is still considered a stronghold of the Congress, there are some apprehensions about its prospects owing to lack of unity among district leaders and workers. Meanwhile, veteran party leaders such as H. Ekantaiah, former Minister, and P. Kodandaramaiah, former MP, have threatened to quit the party for giving ticket to Mr. Sudhakar.

Initially, the BJP struggled to identify a candidate for the constituency, as a majority of its leaders and workers had shifted to the Karnataka Janata Paksha. Even though the party has fielded its district unit president, Siddesh Yadav, it is said that he lacks political experience and does not have a cordial relationship with party leaders in the region. The JD(S) has fielded A. Krishnappa, eyeing the backward class votes.

The KJP has fielded M. Thippeswamy and the BSR Congress has fielded M. Jayanana.

  • Lack of unity among Congress leaders in the segment seen as a negative aspect

  • Janata Dal (S), BJP, KJP and BSR Congress have all fielded candidates