: Congress candidates won the byelections to a seat each of the Tumkur Zilla Panchayat and the Sira Taluk Panchayat. Narayanamurthy won the byelection from the Hulikunte zilla panchayat seat in Koratagere taluk. The seat fell vacant after Sudhakar Lal of the JD(S) resigned following his election the Legislative Assembly from Koratagere. Mr. Lal defeated KPCC president G. Parameshwara. Krishnappa won the byelection from the Baraguru seat of the Sira Taluk Panchayat. The bypolls were held on September 29. — Staff Correspondent