Congress begins process of candidate selection for LS polls

Staff Correspondent
print   ·   T  T  

Ticket aspirants come along with their followers to show their strength

AICC observer P. Sankaran eliciting views of party members on probable candidates for the Belgaum parliamentary constituency on Monday.— PHOTO: D.B. PATIL
AICC observer P. Sankaran eliciting views of party members on probable candidates for the Belgaum parliamentary constituency on Monday.— PHOTO: D.B. PATIL

The Congress has begun the process of selecting candidates for various parliamentary constituencies. On Monday, AICC observer and Congress leader from Kerala M. Murali received applications from aspirants.

Apart from senior leaders, former MPs and former Ministers, youth leaders from the party and a woman candidate sought the party ticket to contest from the constituency, which is represented by BJP State general secretary Pralhad Joshi.

The ticket aspirants had come along with their followers to show their strength.

The aspirants included Manjunath Kunnur, former MP, who lost to Mr. Joshi in the last parliamentary elections; the former MP I.G. Sanadi’s son, Shakir Sanadi; Hubli-Dharwad District Congress president and former Minister A.M Hindasgeri; another former Minister K.N. Gaddi; former MP D.K. Naikar’s son, Lohit Naikar; former State Youth Congress president Sadanand Danganavar; the former councillor Mohan Asundi; KPCC secretaries Rajashekhar Menanasinkai and Anwar Mudhol; former MLA Vinay Kulkarni’s younger brother Vijay Kulkarni; physician Mahesh Nalwad; former zilla panchayat president Shanthavva Gunjal and others.

After having briefed the aspirants and their supporters, Mr. Murali invited the ticket aspirants to a separate meeting.

Mr. Murali and another AICC representative Altaf interviewed the aspirants and sought to know their background, work and plans.

Sources said that Mr. Murali had also been entrusted the job to prepare the preliminary list of aspirants for some more parliamentary constituencies in Karnataka, including Tumkur, Chitradurga, Davangere, Haveri, Dharwad and Uttara Kannada.

Although the party had initiated the process, it would still take some time as the high command would like to assess the aspirants to make the right choices.


Belgaum Special Correspondent reports:

The party began such a process in Belgaum too.

As a part of the exercise, AICC observers were here on Monday to elicit views of party leaders, workers and office-bearers of block and taluk-level committees. The observers, including the former Minister and Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee vice-president A. Krishnappa; KPCC secretary Pradeep Kusnoor; the former Minister from Kerala P. Sankaran,and Ivan Nigli, MLA; held meetings with party leaders and workers of Chikkodi and Belgaum parliamentary constituencies.

Presently, both Chikkodi and Belgaum are represented by BJP leaders.

Mr. Krishnappa, who briefly spoke to presspersons here, said the observers were here to assess the political situation and elicit views of all concerned, on probable candidates for the parliamentary elections.

They would convey their views to the party high command. However, sources in the Congress told The Hindu that there were at least four major contenders for the party ticket in Chikkodi. Leaders and workers suggested names of the former Minister and Yamkanmardi MLA Satish L. Jarkiholi; former Minister Prakash B. Hukkeri; MLA (Chikkodi-Sadalga) and Veerkumar Patil, MLC; and Amarsinh Patil, former MP.

Interestingly, the sources said a majority of leaders and workers supported the candidature of Belgaum District (Rural) Congress Committee president Laxmi R. Hebbalkar for the Belgaum Lok Sabha constituency.

  • AICC observers interview aspirants and get to know about their work and plans

  • They will convey their views to the party high command soon




    Recent Article in KARNATAKA

    According to director Pawan Kumar, the film got a standing ovation when the end credits rolled.

    Lucia goes to Pakistan

    The much acclaimed Kannada movie Lucia directed by Pawan Kumar, which was screened at various international film fes... »