Staff Correspondent

HUBLI: The Hubli Dharwad Municipal Corporation has constituted 10 committees to handle arrangements for the Rajyotsava celebrations in the twin cities.

Addressing presspersons here on Saturday, Deputy Mayor Chandrashekhar Managundi, floor leader of the council Ashok Jadhav and councillors Altaf Kittur and Rajanna Koravi said that the corporation would take steps to hoist Kannada flags on all State and Union government office buildings and commercial complexes on Rajyotsava day.

Mr. Jadhav said that a central committee comprising the Mayor, the Deputy Mayor, the floor leader, the Opposition leader and Commissioner Ajay Nagabhushan would be set up. Nine other committees would comprise councillors and officials.

Mr. Jadhav said the corporation had decided not to invite applications for Rajyotsava awards this year. A committee had been set up to suggest names for the awards after consulting eminent personalities and experts . The names would be finalised before October 25.

He said it had been decided to take out separate processions from zonal offices. It would be the responsibility of the zonal officers to take care of students participating in the processions apart from preparing tableaux.

Mr. Managundi said the corporation would be spending about Rs. 7 lakh for the celebrations, and it had been decided to give Kannada books by well-known authors along with the Rajyotsava awards.