Staff Correspondent

R. Srikant Shet chosen president of the Kodagu unit

MADIKERI: Ashok Sidharth, Karnataka in-charge of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), said on Tuesday that the party supremo Mayawati had removed P. G. R. Sindhia from the party because “he was unable to coordinate party activities properly during the recent elections”.

Speaking to presspersons here, he said BSP would remove workers and leaders who did not work for the party, without any notice or warning. There would be no hearing in the BSP court, only instant deliverance of justice, Mr. Sidharth said.

On the Left parties and the BSP joining hands over the nuclear deal, Mr. Sidharth said it was the former who had sought the help of the BSP over the deal, not the BSP. “The Congress had betrayed the people of the nation since Independence. The BSP considered the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress its enemies. The Mayawati Government in Uttar Pradesh had shown the progress in three years which the Congress or the BJP had not achieved since Independence,” he said.

On the CBI case against Ms. Mayawati, Mr. Sidharth said it was a Congress ploy to tarnish her image. “The CBI had acted under pressure from the Congress. The Congress felt that it had lost its vote base in UP like in Himachal Pradesh, Gujarat and Karnataka,” Mr. Sidharth said.

Marasandra Muniyappa, president of the State unit of the party, said the BSP had expected to get eight to 10 per cent of votes in the recent Assembly elections in the State, but it did not heppen.

Mr. Muniyappa, who released a list of the new office- bearers of the BSP in Kodagu, announced that R. Srikant Shet had been chosen as the new president of the district unit. S.U. Rafiq Khan would be the vice-president, Prem Kumar the general secretary, P.M. Ramesh, the treasurer, and Basavaraju, the office secretary, he added.

For the first time, five divisions were created in the State—Bangalore, Mysore, Belgaum, Chitradurga and Gulbarga— to strengthen party roots in the State, he said.

Mr. Muniyappa said all sections of society had been given representation in the restructured district bodies.

The party intended to field candidates to all 28 Lok Sabha constituencies, he said. Taluk, hobli and booth-level committees of the party would be constituted in 60 days, he added.

General secretaries of the State BSP, N.Mahesh, Krishnappa and J.Jigani Shankar, were present.