Special Correspondent

Bangalore: The State Government tabled the Karnataka Border Area Development Authority Bill 2010, in the Legislative Assembly on Wednesday for establishment of the Karnataka Border Area Development Authority for the development of borders areas of the State and for monitoring and evaluating the implementation of projects and programmes in the areas.

Minister for Law and Parliamentary Affairs S. Suresh Kumar tabled the Bill. The Authority would be set with its headquarters in Bangalore.

The Government would nominate a person who has worked for the development of the border areas as Chairman of the authority.

The Government would appoint seven persons having special knowledge or practical experience in the field of literature, administration, education or law who are aware of the problems of the border areas as members of the authority.

Subject to the pleasure of the Government, the Chairman and other members nominated by the Government should hold office for a three-year period. A total of 52 taluks come under the purview of the Authority, the Bill said.

The Karnataka State Public Records Bill 2010 was also tabled in the House and the Bill regulates the management, administration and preservation of public records of the Government, public sector undertakings, statutory bodies, corporations, commissions and committees constituted by the Government.