Paddlers of Belgaum division emerged runners-up in the women’s category of the annual Mysore Dasara State-level Table Tennis Tournament held recently at Rotary School, Mysore. The Belgaum Division men’s team secured the bronze medal.

The event was organised by the State Youth Affairs and Sport Department.

The tournament involved teams of Belgaum, Bangalore City, Bangalore Rural, Mysore and Gulbarga divisions.

In the league stage, the Belgaum division team, comprising captain Sahana Kulkarni, Akshata Malshet, B. Apoorva and Nidhi Patil, defeated Gulbarga 3-0 and Bangalore Rural 3-0. In the semi-finals, Belgaum defeated Mysore by a margin of 3-1. Sahan Kulkarni defeated Riddhi Rohit of Mysore. Akshata defeated Amrita and Riddhi Rohit in reverse singles.

In the finals, Belgaum Division lost to Bangalore City in a close contest by a margin of 2-3, according to a press note issued here on Monday. — Staff Correspondent