The Belgaum Chamber of Commerce and Industries announced its annual prestigious awards in the categories of trade and industry for 2009, here on Thursday.

According to BCCI honorary secretary Basavaraj Javali, the Late Sri Dilip Mamle Memorial Trust Award will be presented to the best industrialist while the Late Sri Basappa Balappa Kagganagi Memorial Fund Award will go to the best trader in the city.

The Best Industrialist Award has been announced for Positron Engineering Corporation, Machhe Industrial Area, on the outskirts of the city, while the Best Trader Award will be given to Modin Saheb Aga and S.R. Ajgaonkar, Belgaum.

The awards were instituted to encourage and recognise the “best” among the traders and industrialists in the city and inspire others to achieve excellence in trade and industry.

The Sri Dilip Damle Memorial Trust Award is given to the Best Industrialist for “excellence in industrial product development and manufacturing during 2009” and the Sri Basappa Balappa Kagganagi Memorial Fund Award is given to the Best Trader for best trading practices.

The awards will be presented by Minister for Large and Medium Industries Murugesh R. Nirani at a function to be held at BCCI's Raosaheb Gogte Hall in Udyambag on Belgaum-Khanapur Road at 5 p.m. on Saturday.

Minister for Water Resources and Belgaum district in-charge Basavraj Bommai, Suresh Angadi, MP, and Abhay Patil, MLA, will be the guests.