Leaders object to selection of certain candidates

Congress leaders in Gulbarga and Yadgir districts have raised a banner of revolt against the selection of certain candidates to contest the Assembly elections.

Two-time MLA from Aland Assembly constituency in Gulbarga district Sharanabasappa Dhangapur has objected to the selection of the candidate to contest from Aland constituency without consulting local leaders.

Addressing a press conference here on Wednesday, Mr. Dhangapur targeted the former Chief Minister N. Dharam Singh who represents the Bidar Lok Sabha segment, under which Aland constituency is included, for reportedly finalising the candidature of Siddanna Master Shegji.

Mr. Dhangapur said there were five candidates — Jagannath Shegji, Shivaraj Bhasgi, Kiran Deshmukh, Basavaraj Patil Dangapur and Suryakant Koralli — in the race for the ticket to contest from Aland, but ignoring these persons, Mr. Singh reportedly recommended Mr. Shegji.

He claimed that the five aspirants had agreed to work to ensure the victory of the candidate selected amongst them.

However, the party appeared to have selected Mr. Shegji, “who is a very weak candidate”, he said.

Incidentally, Mr. Basavaraj Patil Dangapur is Mr. Sharanabasappa Dhangapur’s son.

Mr. Dhangapur said that after the formal announcement of the candidate, the five aspirants and senior leaders in Aland constituency would meet and decide on their future course of action.

‘We’ll resign en masse’

A section of party leaders in Gurmitkal Assembly constituency in Yadgir district have objected to the reported decision by the party high command to give sitting MLA and former Minister Baburao Chinchansur the ticket to contest from Gurmitkal Assembly constituency again.

Senior leaders have threatened to resign en masse and field a rebel candidate against Mr. Chinchansur if he is given the ticket.

Addressing a meeting of party workers at the Basaveshwar Kalyan Mantap in Yadgir town on Wednesday, senior leaders, including former Block Congress Committee president Saibanna Borabanda, former vice-president of the zilla panchayat Lakshma Reddy and vice-president of the All India Banjara Community Janardhan Rathod, said the party should field a local candidate instead of an “outsider” such as Mr. Chinchansur.

They threatened to work against Mr. Chinchansur if he was fielded as the Congress candidate.

  • ‘Five candidates in the race, but Dharam Singh has recommended Siddanna Master Shegji’

  • Senior party leaders threaten to work against Baburao Chinchansur if he is given ticket