Keshav Annappa Bulbule, professor at Nijalingappa College here, won the Best Chemistry Teacher award 2012 for promotion of Chemistry as a subject in the second edition of Tata Chemicals Best Chemistry Teachers’ Awards 2012 held in New Delhi on Thursday.

Organised by Tata Chemicals Ltd., in association with the Association of Chemistry Teachers (ACT) and Confederation of Indian Industries (CII), there were four awards that were given away to the chosen teachers from across the country.

The Best Chemistry Teacher (for Class XI/XII and equivalent) award was bagged by Umesh Chandra Jain, Simpkins School; Best Chemistry Teacher (Bachelor’s Degree and equivalent) award was secured by Anshu Dandia, University of Rajasthan, Jaipur; while the Best Chemistry Teacher (for Master’s Degree and above) award was given away to Chitta Ranjan Sinha, Jadavpur University.

Shashi Tharoor, Union Minister of State for Higher Education, and Bharat Wakhlu, Resident Director, Tata Sons, felicitated the teachers.

After accepting the award, Mr. Bulbule said it was an honour to be awarded. He pledged to continue to motivate students and teachers in the field of Chemistry.

For details, contact Sujit Patil or Chintan Joshi from Tata Chemicals Ltd. at 66658282, or send an email,