The Patrakar Vikas Trust here has announced its biennial awards in Marathi journalism for 2011.

Mallikarjun Mugali, senior reporter of Sakal here, and Prakash Deshpande, correspondent of Tarun Bharat at Khanapur have been selected for the award, president of the trust Netaji Jadhav, secretary Upendra Bajikar and member secretary Prashant Barde announced here on Saturday.

The award carries a prize of Rs. 5,000 and a memento, which will be presented at a function here soon.

Mr. Barde also announced the setting up of ‘Patrakar Kalyan Nidhi' to cover the medical expenses of journalists. Journalists belonging to the lower income category in the district will be eligible for benefits of Rs. 5,000 to Rs. 20,000.

The trust has also decided to institute an award for best photographer from 2013. This will also be given once in two years.