Bill to be tabled during the next legislature session

The University of Mysore and Karnatak University, Dharwad will soon become innovative universities with the State Government set to table a Bill in this regard in the next legislature session.

Minister for Higher Education V.S. Acharya told presspersons here on Saturday that the State Cabinet had cleared the draft bill on Thursday following a recommendation by the State Knowledge Commission headed by scientist Kasturirangan.

He said the proposed legislation will grant complete academic autonomy to these universities besides separating academics from administration. Subordinate to the Vice-Chancellor will be two Pro-Chancellors for looking after academics and administration exclusively.

The legislation will also provide for the appointment of a person of eminence as president of the university. The Governor will be the visitor of the university with powers to seek report at any time on its affairs. However, compared to the traditional universities, the role of the Governor will be limited to a certain extent while the Government cannot interfere with the university affairs at all.

The two universities will have a Board of Governors besides an Ombudsman to keep an eye on the affairs of the universities.

Dr. Acharya said 12 engineering colleges in the State are set to get Rs. 91.5 crore World Bank aid to improve the infrastructure facilities and provide training to faculty members.

Of the 12 colleges, three colleges – Malnad Engineering College - Chickmagalur, Siddartha Institute of Technology - Tumkur and RV Engineering College - Bangalore – will get an assistance of Rs. 12.5 crore each to offer postgraduate courses, upgrade equipment and provide better infrastructure facilities.

The nine colleges that will be given aid to upgrade infrastructure facilities are Acharya Institute of Technology (Rs. 4 crore), Bhoomareddy College of Engineering - Hubli (Rs. 10 crore), Gurunanak Saheb College of Engineering - Bidar (Rs. 4 crore), JSS Academy of Technical Education -Bangalore (Rs. 4 crore), KVJ College of Engineering - Sullya (Rs. 4 crore), Rural Engineering College - Bhalki (Rs. 4 crore), Jagadguru Mallikarjuna Murugharajendra Institute of Technology - Chitradurga (Rs. 4 crore), SKSGE College - Bangalore (Rs. 10 crore), and PES Institute of Technology (Rs. 10 crore).

  • Pro-Chancellors to work under Vice-Chancellor
  • Each university to have a Board of Governors