Special Correspondent

Kuvempu varsity to hold 20th annual convocation on Sunday

13,653 college students and 7,267 distance-learning candidates to get degrees

Governor H.R. Bhardwaj to confer degrees, present awards

SHIMOGA: K.J. Nagashree from the Civil Engineering Department of the UBDT College of Engineering, Davangere, is the “golden girl” of Kuvempu University this year.

Ms. Nagashree, who has won seven gold medals in her final year — the highest in the university so far — is followed by S. Shubha from the Kannada Studies Department of Jnana Sahyadri, Shankaraghatta, who has won six.

They will receive their medals at the 20th annual convocation of the university to be held at Jnana Sahyadri, the university campus, on March 14.

At least 71 students share a total of 126 gold medals instituted for various courses.

While H.S. Veeresh of Lalita Kala Mahavidyalaya, Davangere, will receive four gold medals and a cash prize for his distinction in BVA, H.D. Akshata of the Sociology Department of Jnana Sahyadri and N.R. Megha (B.Com) have won four gold medals each.

Honorary degrees

Archaeologist S.R. Rao, writer B.T. Lalita Naik, educationist P.V. Krishna Bhat, K.S. Nissar Ahmed, film director Girish Kasaravalli, psychiatrist K.A. Ashok Pai and Sringeri Sharada Peetham administrator V.R. Gauri Shankar will be conferred honorary doctorate degrees on the occasion in recognition of their contribution to their fields of activity.

As many as 112 researchers, of which 22 are women, will receive their Ph.D., while 120 candidates, half of them women, are eligible for M.Phil.

A total of 13,653 candidates will be conferred various degrees. Further, 7,267 candidates who applied through distance learning programme will earn their degrees at the convocation.

Convocation address

Giving details about the convocation at a press conference here on Thursday, Registrar (Evaluation) Rame Gowda said the Union Minister of State for Human Resources Development, D. Purandeswari, would deliver the convocation address. Governor H.R. Bhardwaj would confer the degrees and present awards and certificates. Minister for Higher Education Arvind Limbavali would be present, he added.