Special Correspondent

Elections to the post to be held today

Eshwarappa to resign as Minister

BANGALORE: Energy Minister K.S. Eshwarappa will file nominations for the elections to the post of the Bharatiya Janata Party State president on Thursday. The results of the election will be announced at 1.30 p.m. on the same day according to the party election calendar.


Party sources said that the election was only a formality as the party leaders had already declared that the next president would be elected unanimously.

Mr. Eshwarappa will tender resignation to his ministerial post before filing nominations for the party president’s post. BJP National General Secretary Vijay Goel will be the party’s central observer for the election.

Elections to the party State president’s post have necessitated as the term of incumbent D.V. Sadananda Gowda has ended.

Meanwhile, lobbying for the ministerial berth, which is going to be vacated by Mr. Eshwarappa, has already begun. The names of party leaders such as C. T. Ravi and the former Minister Shobha Karandlaje are being prominently heard for the post. But the ministerial aspirants may have to wait for nearly two months as party sources made it clear that there was no question of filling up the ministerial vacancy or effecting a ministerial reshuffle till the presentation of the State budget.