Special Correspondent

BANGALORE: The State Government has selected the former Vice-Chancellor and Kannada writer D. Javare Gowda and Dharmadhikari of Sri Kshetra Dharmasthala D. Veerendra Heggade for its prestigious Karnataka Ratna award for 2008 and 2009 respectively, according to a press release here on Friday.

The award was instituted in 1992.

The two were selected based on the recommendation made by a special committee headed by the former Chief Justice of the Kerala High Court V.S. Malimath, athe press release said.

The award, which will be presented after the completion of the election proces to the Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike, comes with a gold medal weighing 50 gm, a citation, a memento and a shawl.